Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Waiting On Wednesday (85): Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine in which bloggers talk about the books they are most eager for!

This Week's Pick: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Publisher: Soho Teen
Release Date: January 16th, 2018




A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a "suitable" Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City--and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she's only known from afar. There's the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya's last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear? (Summary from Goodreads)
This book has been getting a lot of buzz in the YA community, and not just cause it has a fantastic cover. I've only hear amazing things about this debut novel and I can't wait to get a copy for myself. It sounds intense but also fun and romantic and like it'll be a punch to the gut. Mark your calendars for this one! I know I have!

- Ciara (at Midnight) 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! I love myself some comments so if you have one feel free to add it! Hope you have an awesomely book-filled day!