Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday (74): The Remedy by Suzanne Young

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine in which bloggers talk about the books they are most eager for!

Release Date: April 21st 2015
Publisher: Simon Pulse

In a world before The Program…

Quinlan McKee is a closer. Since the age of seven, Quinn has held the responsibility of providing closure to grieving families with a special skill—she can “become” anyone.

Recommended by grief counselors, Quinn is hired by families to take on the short-term role of a deceased loved one between the ages of fifteen and twenty. She’s not an exact copy, of course, but she wears their clothes and changes her hair, studies them through pictures and videos, and soon, Quinn can act like them, smell like them, and be them for all intents and purposes. But to do her job successfully, she can’t get attached.

Now seventeen, Quinn is deft at recreating herself, sometimes confusing her own past with those of the people she’s portrayed. When she’s given her longest assignment, playing the role of Catalina Barnes, Quinn begins to bond with the deceased girl’s boyfriend. But that’s only the beginning of the complications, especially when Quinn finds out the truth about Catalina’s death. And the epidemic it could start. (Summary from Goodreads)
I honestly didn't except to love The Program was much as I did. I didn't expect to become so committed to the characters, the world, the story. But, Suzanne Young sucked be into this series and I haven't looked back. The Treatment was the perfect finale, but I was so sad there wouldn't be more. But then this series was announced. And my little black heart was so damn happy. I cannot wait to read this book. I know it'll be AMAZING.

What are you waiting on this week?

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)  

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday (12): Top Ten Books From My Childhood I'd Like to Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which bloggers post their "Top Ten" of whatever that week's theme is! This week's theme:


Whenever I think about books from my childhood, I think about what a weird reader I was. When I was a very little kid, I was obsessed with reading. I loved having stories read to me, I started reading on my own at a very young age, and then I just...stopped. I read on and off but throughout my kind of "older childhood," I didn't read. When I was twelve, I discovered the Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella and The A-List series by Zoey Dean. I was obsessed with both, but I never went outside of either. It wasn't until age fourteen when I started reading Twilight that I discovered there were these magical things called YA Books.

As a child though, a lot of books shaped me, and it was so much fun going back and looking at them all. Child-me recommends all of these books with all her tiny heart.

- One of my absolute favourite books as a child. I didn't realize until now what heavey subject matter it contained but Sarah Weeks wrote about it brilliantly. Highly recommend this gem.
- Something I realized when writing this list was that a lot of my favourite books as a kid were written by Canadian authors (which makes me very happy to find out)! Everything On a Waffle, as the title probably indicates, is a really weird book. But I adored it. (I also recently found out there was a sequel that came out a couple years back which blew my mind).
- This was one of the books that actually broke through the older kid me's policy of no reading. I don't remember how I got this book in my hands, but I remember refusing to put it down. It's probably the book I recommend most to kids at work cause it's just a universally AWESOME story.
- Without a doubt, the picture book I had read to me the most. It was well-loved by my parents and tiny-child me. (I still think it's just such a cute, amazing, funny book)
- Another Canadian author! She actually came to my school and did a presentation on The Serpent's Egg (which was set in Ottawa) and I was so entranced. I read and LOVED OBSESSIVELY the first book but never finished the series. I've made it a goal to do just that this year!
- I read the first two of these books at my elementary school and I was obsessed. My favourite series of books as a kid, by far. 
- My mom and I read this picture book over and over again. A classic in so many ways.
- I think this was another book I read in school. I remember I was so fascinated by it. Stargirl was different than anything I'd ever read before. I know a lot of people weren't fans, but I really was. 
- I read this book in grade six and it stunned me. A powerful portrayal of the hardships face in WWII.
- Another Canadian book, yus! I remember so clearly when I first heard about this book. We had to do presentations in our computer lab about our favourite book. One of my classmates presented this one and it sounded so interesting. I picked it up and I loved every little bit of it. Highly HIGHLY recommend this one.

I could add so many books to this list! I love looking back at all those books that shaped me into the reader. What were your favourite childhood books?

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday (73): The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine in which bloggers talk about the books they are most eager for!

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: March 31st 2015

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamics The Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live? (Summary from Goodreads)

Ugh, look at that cover guys. That cover is what I want my summer to be like. 

This book sounds so sweet and fun with just a little side of heart-break. Open Road Summer was such a hit with everyone last year (and one I keep meaning to pick up), I'm sure Emery Lord's sophomore book will be just as amazing! I can't wait to dive into both of her books this summer.

What are you waiting on this week?

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday (11): Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which bloggers post their "Top Ten" of whatever that week's theme is! This week's theme:


I have a lot of books on my spring TBR. A LOT. I only really have two months of spring to do some reading (March & April are almost always a write-off because of school/exams) but I always end up making lofty goals. I can't help myself! Here are ten of the MANY books on my spring TBR (in no particular order)!

- I have a really big soft spot for this series, and I'm looking forward to the next installment! Just the kind of book to read after the stress of exams!

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
- I've been meaning to read Jandy Nelson for YEARS but I just never got to them. I know I'll love them. I know I'll probably connect with them completely. Which is why I'm always putting them off. But, this spring, I'm determined to read them. 

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi
- I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this one and I absolutely cannot wait to pick it up! Sounds like the perfect foray into my dear summer books!

- Katie McGarry! I don't consider myself a big romance reader, but her books are just fantastic. I've loved them all and I'm really excited to see what this new series will be like!

Like It Never Happened by Emily Adrian
- I received an ARC of this one and I'm pumped to read it. It just sounds like so much fun! (Also, it's from a Canadian author so extra awesomeness)

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1) by Rachel Hawkins
- THIS. I CAN'T BELIEVE I STILL HAVEN'T READ THIS. And I call myself a Rachel Hawkins fangirl. FOR SHAME. I bought this book the day it came out and I still haven't read it and I'm so sad because I'm sure it's fabulous and I've missed out on loving it all this time.

(But actually, on the subject of being a Rachel Hawkins fangirl, my bestie and I have nicknamed her Sass Master because SHE IS YO.)
Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard
- This book has been ERRYWHERE. And I've heard many a fabulous things! 

- If I'm ashamed about not having read Rebel Belle yet, I'm extra super insanely ashamed that I haven't With All My Soul. The Soul Screamers series is one of my absolute favourites and I was heart-broken that it was over. So I put off reading the finale. And put it off and put it off to the point where it's been two years and I still haven't gotten to it. NO MORE. I will read you book!

Seraphina/Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartmann
- Another one I've been meaning to read for ages, and now that the lovely peeps at Random House have provided me a copy (you da best Jackie!) I'll be picking them up very soon!

Boomerang (Boomerang #1) by Noelle August
- Two NA books on this list? What madness has taken over me! Honestly, I still don't entire get how NA is different than YA (besides, well, the obvious) but I still love a good story, and Boomerang sounds just that!

That's my list! What's on yours?

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

Saturday, March 14, 2015


Hello, awesome people!

You guys probably all know how much I love Courtney Summers. Her books are some of the best out there, and I want to put them on everyone's radar. A little over a year ago, I hosted the Courtney Summers Read-Along and had always planned to host another one when All the Rage was released. But, I decided to do something a little different this time around. So! May I present....

Yep, that's right. For the entire month of April, Lost at Midnight Reviews will be hosting guest posts, discussion posts, even a Q&A (!!!) all about All the Rage by Courtney Summers. This is a book you need to read, guys. It explores so many important and relevant themes with gutting writing and powerful characters. This is a book not to be missed, and I hope you guys will stop by during April to see why!

The thing is, I NEED YOUR HELP! Are you excited to read All The Rage? (You should be). Why not drop a couple lines about why in the comments and be featured in an upcoming post! Have you read All The Rage? Feel like writing a guest post (doesn't have to be long) about why you loved it? Why you thought it was important? Send me an email at and let me know!

Have any other ideas you feel would work for this month? Send me an email! I'm happy to listen to everyone's ideas!

I hope you guys are excited as I am! And make sure to pick up All the Rage when it releases April 14th! (OR pre-order your copy now and receive a copy of one of Courtney Summers' backlist titles!)

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

Friday, March 13, 2015

BLOG TOUR: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Hello, lovely blog readers!

Today is an extra special awesome day because today is my stop on the Canadian Blog Tour for The Orphan Queen! I was lucky enough to read an advance copy of this book and, let me tell you, Jodi Meadows hits it out of the park once again. I'll have a full review up hopefully next week (depending on how well school work goes!) in which I'll gush about how much I loved it. Because I LOVED it. (Seriously, WK + BK = OTP). 

Anyways, since I've been such a huge fan of Jodi's after reading her incredible New Soul trilogy (my reviews of Incarnate and Asunder here!), I wanted to do something special for this post.

SO! May I present to you...



Wilhelmina Korte is a badass. That's one thing you need to know. She sees a roof top; she runs across it. She sees a threat; she battles it with her insane knife-wielding skills. She runs through forests with ease and confidence. All in a day's work for Wilhemina.


I, on the other hand, am not a badass (as much as I'd love to believe I am). I see a roof in summer and think 'that would be cool to climb' then promptly walk the other way. I see a roof in winter and make this face.

I don't see threats in my everyday life (THANKFULLY) but if I do get mad I use my impressive vocabulary of swear words. And when I try to run through forests in winter....well....



Wilhelmina also spends her days practicing her IMPRESSIVE forgery skills and doing beautiful calligraphy.

(Beautiful calligraphy done by Jodi Meadows in this pic!)


I have terrible hand-writing. I'm better at typing....and Goodreads stalking.



Wilhelmina spends her nights climbing fences and out of windows. She searches the city for bad guys while trying to reclaim her kingdom and she does a dang good job of it.


...this is what happens when I try to climb a fence.

And, at night, you can usually find me curled up with a blanket, my dog, and some goldfishes probably watching Netflix.

SO. To conclude, Wilhemina is epic on every level (and I'd love to be a bit more like her). She is one of the best protagonists I've read about in a very long time. And you guys all need to meet her.

Find This Book: Amazon | Chapters | Goodreads | Jodi's Website

Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world. (Summary from Goodreads)

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen). Visit her at 

 The Orphan Queen is OUT NOW! You can buy this book RIGHT NOW! You can meet Wilhelmina RIGHT NOW! And you guys really really should.

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

P.S. HUGE thanks to Emilie for being an epic photo taker.   

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Waiting On Wednesday (72): The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine in which bloggers talk about the books they are most eager for!

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Release Date: March 24th, 2015

“Ori’s dead because of what happened out behind the theater, in the tunnel made out of trees. She’s dead because she got sent to that place upstate, locked up with those monsters. And she got sent there because of me.”

The Walls Around Us is a ghostly story of suspense told in two voices—one still living and one long dead. On the outside, there’s Violet, an eighteen-year-old dancer days away from the life of her dreams when something threatens to expose the shocking truth of her achievement. On the inside, within the walls of a girls’ juvenile detention center, there’s Amber, locked up for so long she can’t imagine freedom. Tying these two worlds together is Orianna, who holds the key to unlocking all the girls’ darkest mysteries.

We hear Amber’s story and Violet’s, and through them Orianna’s, first from one angle, then from another, until gradually we begin to get the whole picture—which is not necessarily the one that either Amber or Violet wants us to see.

Nova Ren Suma tells a supernatural tale of guilt and innocence, and what happens when one is mistaken for the other. (Summary from Goodreads)

This one is being called "Orange is the New Black Swan" and if that tagline alone doesn't get you, just read the description.

I've been wanted to read this one since the rights announcement for one simple reason: it's a Nova Ren Suma book. And her books are EXTRAORDINARY. Her writing is enchanting and her stories are always magical and raw and real. I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book and I cannot wait to see for myself.

If you don't have Nova Ren Suma on your radar, you really need to change that. Check out my review of 17 & Gone if you need more encouragement and my post about how Nova Ren Suma is a rockstar author.

What are you waiting on this week?

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday (10): Top Ten Books For Readers That Like Dead Poets Society

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which bloggers post their "Top Ten" of whatever that week's theme is! This week's theme is Ten Books For Readers that like_____ so I chose:


I love Dead Poets Society. It's one of my favourite movies in the world. How could it not be? It has POETRY, and ANGSTY PREP SCHOOL BOYS, and A BEAUTIFUL MESSAGE ABOUT BEING WHO YOU ARE. Basically everything I love in the world. I also love those things in BOOKS, so today I'm recommending books for fans of Dead Poets Society!

- Although this wasn't one of my favourite books eva, I was a huge fan of the prep school boys and the mysterious secret society element!
My Review: Liv, Forever

9. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
- Okay, admittedly, I haven't read this one yet. BUT! The bestie has and says it is fabulous and has some awesome similarities.

8. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
- No prep schools or secret societies in this one but a lot of coming-of-age and heart.

7. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

- This beauty of a book has a territory war and a cast of characters to fall in love with.

6. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

- I feel like I can put this book on every list everywhere, basically. This one has a small group of girls attending a formerly all-boys prep school. And it is incredible.

5. The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger
- The book with the angsty prep school boy that inspired all the other angsty prep school boys (and girls) for generations.

4. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

- Four prep school boys, a search for an ancient king, and a quest for meaning. Fans of Poets will adore this one.
My Review: The Raven Boys

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green

- A boarding school in Alabama and boy is searching for The Great Perhaps. Get on this, Poets fans (although you probably already have). 
My Post for LFA's 10 Year Anniversary 
2. Paper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard
- I think this is a pretty underrated book. It was subtle but powerful and has its fair share of prep school boys AND poetry.  
My Review on Ontario Blog Squad: Paper Covers Rock

1. The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier

- My first reaction to this book was "This is going to be Dead Poets Society minus the poetry, right?" which my best friend basically confirmed.

Are any of you Dead Poets Society fans? Got any recommendations for me with angsty prep school boys? Let me know in the comments!

- Ciara (Lost at Midnight)